top of page

Review: Pretend It's a City --with Fran Lebowitz (Directed by Martin Scorsese)




Pretend It's a City is a 2017 collaboration between director Martin Scorsese and writer/critic/comedian Fran Lebowitz. My first time watching it was actually back in 2020...and it captured my heart since. I decided to return with a more critical eye. Revisiting this gem is worth it.


Martin Scorcese is no stranger to filmmaking. Seeing him approaching a documentary was a gift in that of itself. It shows that the man is not only a great storyteller but also a great intellectual. Using documentary-style cinematography alongside archival footage, Pretend It's a City focuses on Lebowitz's scathing commentary on American urban life. Among the topics she discusses are New York City subways, tourists, contemporary issues, and artistic expression. She also discusses her coming of age and professional journey as an atheist, Jewish lesbian from New Jersey living in New York City.


The seven episode series is filled with wit and humor that sets Fran Lebowitz apart from other critics. Her outspoken critiques sweep across the board. Not only does she express her disagreement with famed Republicans such as President Donald Trump but also known Democrats such as former Mayor Michael Bloomberg. The series also follows her as she laments over the trials that New York residents endured over the years, including the AIDS epidemic and 9/11. She also details what it was like connecting with some of the most infamous icons of her time such as the late Andy Warhol (whom she despised) and the late Toni Morrison (whom she adored).


As I watched and listened to Lebowitz speak I found myself greatly moved with laughter and thoughtful reflection. To me, it was truly surprising that I hadn't encountered her before. Once you do, you are grateful to include her in your repertoire of go-to comedians and critics. It also inspired me to seek out her two novels so that I may read them (and perhaps review) at a later date. Lebowitz's humor and her story inspire me, and taught me that I too can entertain audiences with rhetoric.

Below is one of my favorite quotes from Fran Lebowitz:


"There is nothing better for a city than a dense population of angry homosexuals."

I appreciate the dynamic that comes out between Fran Lebowitz and Martin Scorsese. I also enjoy watching the footage of her with filmmakers and writers such as Spike Lee and Toni Morrison. Lebowitz's wit also opens the door to have some great conversations around some of the most pressing issues in America and in urban areas around the globe. This series that first introduced me to Lebowitz and made me a fan. It is available to watch on Netflix.


You can watch the trailer for the series here.

IMG_0646.JPG

Welcome Reader

You have come a long way. Brace yourself. We are about to undergo a journey unlike any other.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Let me know what's on your mind

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 Justin Cobb. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page