top of page

Poem for My Mother (Mother's Day)




Justin Cobb's mom helps him put an ornament on the Christmas tree. She has shoulder-length chestnut hair and she has glasses. She wears a gray sweatshirt, a pair of jeans, and slippers.
My Mom helps a younger me put an ornament on the Christmas tree.


My Mother is beautiful

She once had thick, wavy hair

Browner than the trunks of the sturdiest trees

Her glasses framed her face for years


Those ages are starting to show in her now

My Mom's hair grows silver with every year

There are days that I witness it grow sleek

Yet still her scrunchies keep it from her face


My Mom's eyes are green

They are one feature we do not share

Yet from her I got thick long hair

I keep praying with every year it will remain


I carry her image in my own reflection

Her freckles dot my nose

She and I have the same mouth

Wide, long and proud


Loud when necessary


It is the same kind of mouth that learned to be silent

For see she and I both learned from an early age

That children were supposed to be seen and not heard

Or else angry hands will catch you


It is the same mouth that when we were brave

Certainly got us into trouble

We were both vilified and punished for speaking out

Against the men in our lives


Even when we needed to be seen

When we needed to be heard

When we wanted to belong


Her journey and mine were so similar

In many different ways

We both wanted to encounter love

We craved to be understood


People always used to say that my Mom was smart

She got good grades in school

She was the oldest of five

A big sister to all


A leader in her own right

A caretaker from the start


My Mom did not perform company mergers

Nor did she bring the greatest sale

Nor did she broadcast her life

For all of her followers on social


No


My Mom gave up her career before she had me

It was what people expected of her

Even as the time goes on

It's still the same song


My Mom was a child of the Nixon era

Raised Republican from the start

She watched a President resign

Early in her lifetime


My Mom remembers Walkman

She used to play Atari

Tetris was her game of choice

She once played with dolls


Even back then she knew she wanted to be a Mom


My Mom grew up with the unease from her family

The War on Drugs was a necessity

Reaganomics was king

That's what she was taught and told


Yet simultaneously


People failed to acknowledge the threat

They told her that her punishments were just

The beatings were necessary;

Insults hurled from those drunken nights


Cringeworthy

The trauma

Wrought from insecure masculinity


”But a necessity”


My Mom grew up afraid of her father's wrath

She witnessed his hands hot and angry

She could still feel the blow

Even when it was no longer there


My Mom was taught that she was unworthy

Nobody else better lay his hands on her

Yet her father could

And he did


My Mom was smart and did well in school

She dreamed of working for the music industry

As the years went by

She learned how to lie and survive


Even as the years passed by

She was brought up in the world

She tried to seek her fortune

She picked up secretarial work


My Mom still remembers short-hand

She was the one who could budget

It was her gift who led our family

Through some of those hardest days


My Mom came from a small town

Her heart belongs to the land

Though she dreamed of going places

Her heart still brought her back


My Mom knew my father when she was young

My father lived with his aunt in North Carolina

When he returned to Pennsylvania

He saw her and asked her out


Their first date was a Christian concert

Fernando Ortega was the performer

"This Good Day" still plays in mind

It reminds us each day is a gift


My Dad loved that he was Christian

But my Mom loved his soul

My Mom didn't realize


Her connection to the land shares more in common

With the people who first came from here

With the people whose skin tones

She was taught to fear and suspect


My Mom is a quiet woman

Then you get to know her

And the childlike joy;

The kind that can fixate on small things


She enjoys Pepsi

She came of age in the eighties

She went to SUNY!

She had me in her twenties!


Mom's last “job”was at an antique shop

Her father worked there before her

It was a different side to him

There was another for her


When she was pregnant with me

She was terrified

My father was leaving her

She was in over her head


My Mom struggled in her journey

She gave it all up to become a Mom

The world shames her decision but to her

Raising her kids was worth more than enough


More than any career


My Mom's story was not easy

The sacrifices that she made go unheard

I was her child and it took years later

While my life was falling apart in front of me


To fully grasp everything that she endured

The sleepless nights, the rattling cries

Those long and arduous fights

With the men that she was surrounded by


The same ones that taught her

That this was all she deserved

She could not afford to leave

They kept her in a box


Watching my Mom resist made me cry

I didn't understand why

Or how this would affect me

Until I started leaving home


My Mom's love is all spent

She gave all that she got and more

Than what she had to give

My mother is a living embodiment of our Earth


Dry, depleted

Hot and cold

Yet something inside still alive

Waiting to be recognized


Hoping to be understood


My something inside so strong

I now realize comes from her

This same woman with no job

Who still defied the man


My Mom

Who fought for me

Who fought for family

Who fought for she?


Who fought for custody?

Who fought for alimony?

Who fought for liberty?

Who fought for me?


My Mom

Who showed me the way

Who taught me right from wrong

Who taught me I am my best champion


She taught me to speak up

Even when it was uncomfortable

Even when it challenged her

Even when you risked disappointment


My Mom and I knew the highs and lows

We both braved life's events

That humbled us and made us wiser

Scenes that made us kinder


My kindness starts from her

My courage begins with her

My wisdom comes from her

My passion originates from her


Mom


I owe you a debt of gratitude

I can only fathom the weight

Of the decisions laid before you


You didn't have it all

You didn't know it all

You sacrificed it all

You endured it all


The world was stacked against you

Yet you brought forth three worlds

Each one unique in its own way

Yet they all bear some semblance of you


I must do right by you Mom

It is the least that I can do

For all that you went through

To bring me forth in this life


These moments are precious

This gift is ours to own

I can't throw it away

Nor bear it going to waste


Your kindness to others

Shines through the fog you were taught

I challenged her further

Because I believed in her


We are the choices we make in this world

Not the categories or our labels

Every day is a new one to start

Don't you know you are worthy of love?


Some day you will look back and see

The life you lead

Bearing out in front of you

I'm part of your legacy!


Mom I learned from you to be strong

That our society is misguided

That our world is worth protecting

That there is right and wrong


So thank you

For being my Mom

For being my example

For being my beginning


Love,


Your Son


















IMG_0646.JPG

Welcome Reader

You have come a long way. Brace yourself. We are about to undergo a journey unlike any other.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Let me know what's on your mind

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 Justin Cobb. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page